Community Support

Award Description

This award recognizes a BIOTECanada member company that has distinguished itself through its contributions to the community or communities in Canada beyond its normal business activities. The company will have demonstrated leadership through involvement in local, regional or national efforts and shown significant commitment in contributing to organizations, schools, or activities.  The company will have established a solid foundation of social responsibility and demonstrated continued commitment in Canada.
A variety of approaches can be recognized from establishing learning programs, donating goods and services, supporting employee volunteering, to supporting charity and community events. It will have developed or continued partnerships during the year that has allowed the company to be recognized as a leader and an important part of the local or national community.  
The award has been established to showcase the contributions member companies offer to our Canadian quality of life beyond their respective business and economic impact. This award is based on performance in the previous calendar year.

The Sanofi Group of Companies (2014)

Corporate social responsibility is core to the Sanofi Group in Canada’s business as a national healthcare leader. Their community activities, often enhanced by the direct involvement of employees, support research, promote health and well-being, and create public awareness of disease prevention and treatment.

Sanofi Group in Canada’s flagship Community Initiative is the Sanofi BioGENEius Challenge Canada (SBCC).  While the company has invested in many other community initiatives, the SBCC is the affiliate’s longest standing, most important contribution to STEM development in Canada. The SBCC encourages Canadian youth to pursue future studies and careers in the exciting field of biotechnology. Since 1993, over 4,500 Canadian youth have participated in the SBCC, which encourages high school and CEGEP students to foster their curiosity and passion for science.

l-r Mark Lievonen (Sanofi Pasteur) and Jeff Rands (VWR).

Past Award Recipients

2014 - Sanofi Group of Companies
2013 - Novo Nordisk
2012 - Amgen
2011 - Sanofi Pasteur

Partnership Program



Biogen Idec