Emerging Company - Ind.&Ag

Award Description

The recipients of this award are pre-commercialization companies and are recognized for their potential. They will have distinguished themselves from their peers with demonstrated technology innovation and achieved milestones.

Ceapro Inc. (2014)

Ceapro's success, whether it be commercializing technology or funding its manufacturing facility, exemplifies the need to pull a village together to do all the things required for success.  This village includes government and university technologies, technical partners, government funding agencies, commercial financiers, strategic partners, and most importantly innovative and dedicated employees.

Ceapro's record revenues exceeded $6.5 million in 2013, an increase of 26% over 2012 and have been profitable for the third time in the last four years.  This was done in a year when the company had a very major but exciting distraction, the construction of it first independent manufacturing facility, which will be completed in June 2014. Processes and equipment were also re-engineered to allow the new facility to operate at maximum efficiency. The facility will be meeting the highest quality standards required by Ceapro's multi-national customers.

l-r Premier Hancock (Alberta), Gilles Gagnon (Ceapro), and Vince Lamanna (Novo Nordisk). 

Past Award Recipients

2014 - Ceapro
2013 - Okanagan Specialty Fruits
2012 - BioAmber
2011 - EnWave Corporation
2010 - CO2 Solution Inc.
2009 - Zymeworks Inc.
2008 - Lignol Energy Corp.
*2007 - Technologie Biolactis
2006 - MBEC Bioproducts
2005 - Performance Plants, Kingston, ON

*Prior to 2008, BIOTECanada's annual awards program was known as the National Biotechnology Awards with recognition for companies and this award was called "Promising Early Stage company(s) Recognition".


Island Abbey Foods Inc.
PlantForm Corporation
SoleGear Technologies

Partnership Program



Biogen Idec